# Booking Settings

What are the booking settings?

The Jammed booking settings that control how bookings are taken on Jammed.

# Customer booking modes

TIP

Jammed by default allows any customer to make a booking, and they can book as a guest without setting up a profile

Customers can make a booking for a given studio on your website. When they make a booking, they can first register an account or they can book as a guest (without first registering an account).

Booking modes allow you to control which customers can make bookings with your studio, and whether they can book as a guest or not.

# Public & guest booking (default mode)

This is the default mode, and most studios will use this setting. Customers can book as a guest without registering a profile and setting a password. If they register an account, they can book as a registered user and then see their booking history. If a customer registers an account but doesn't login, they can still book as a 'guest', but it won't be linked to the same customer in Jammed, and the guest booking won't be seen in their booking history.

# Public booking, register first

A booking can be made by anyone wanting to book a space, but they have to register an account before they do so. They have to set a password, and can then log back in with their email and password.

Having customers register an account is a good way to make sure that you are protected against spammy or bogus bookings (if you only take reservations, and no payments for example), and also to make sure that you can assign all bookings that a customer makes in the future to the same profile.

This might annoy some customers who are not interested in registering an account (and if they forget their password, they can't book as a guest)

# Private bookings (by invitation only)

In this mode, only the customers that you setup and invite to Jammed are able to book. They can't book as a guest nor can they register a new account. They can only login with their email and password that they set up when they were invited to Jammed.

This 'private' mode is useful if you want to take bookings from a specific group of customers, or you have a private membership system that you want to use to take bookings, and members of the public aren't allowed to book.

# Summary

Booking mode Guest bookings Customers can register Registered customer bookings
Public & guest booking Yes Yes Yes
Public booking, register first No Yes Yes
Private booking No No Yes

# Booking activities

Booking activities are the types of activities that you offer at your studio. They can be used to sell your room for different prices based on what the customer is booking it for. For example, you might have a room that you rent out for yoga classes, and you might have a different price for a yoga class than you do for a dance class.

Read more about booking activities in it's own section.

# Booking form settings

Global and wide-ranging settings that change how Jammed calculates room availability and offerings to customers.

  • Allow bookings without rooms Only for when admins manually make a booking. Bookings from customers will always require a room.
  • Room cleaning time Added to help studio comply with differing Covid cleaning guideance. A fixed amount time is added before and after a booking to allow time for cleaning.
  • Booking grace period The period of time before an available slot for online bookings. The times inside this period will still appear as available, but if chosen, the customer is then asked to call or contact the studio directly. This allows short notice bookings to be flagged up and allowed, or for them to be rescheduled another time. This could be helpful if the studio isn't staffed at all times during opening hours.

# Booking information boxes

Jammed allows studios to enter in the specific details of the practice and the location. The customer will see this information when making a booking and in all the emails from the system about bookings.

Some of the fields allow for text formatting to be applied to give emphasis. The terms & conditions and grace period instructions fields additionally allow web links to be added within the text. This allows you to add a link to your studio's website for more information, rather than repeating it all in a small box on the booking screens.

  • Page title This title will be shown at the top of the booking screen. By default it is Booking at <name>
  • What's included Free text field for the included perks of your studio, and what the customer has included with their booking.
  • Extras Free text field for the optional extras in your studio, and what the customer can add to their booking.
  • Terms and conditions These are the terms between you and your customers. You can also just add a HTML link to your terms if you don't want to repeat them here
  • Cancellation policy This is the explanation of your cancellation policy
  • Additional requests placeholder This text appears on the booking form to prompt for additional requests from every customer booking.
  • Grace period instructions This text is shown to the customer if they pick a booking time within the grace period - a time is shown online as available, but not publicly bookable.

# Custom website terms

These terms are shown the customer and must be accepted by them prior to booking. A standard web form checkbox has to be ticked by the customer.

  • Custom terms text - A short description of the website terms.
  • Custom terms link - Link to your terms with this URL.
Last changed: 4/30/2024, 4:37:52 PM
Jammed logo in black